Leadership Johnson County

Tomorrow’s Leaders Made Today Through Leadership Johnson County


Leadership Johnson County prepares and motivates a diverse group of community-minded leaders through education and training. The future of Johnson County is directly tied to the quality of its leadership.

Leadership Johnson County is a program founded by the Johnson County Chamber of Commerce to identify and prepare the community’s future leadership resources. The program provides Johnson County with a network of current and emerging leaders who posses the skill and sense of commitment to improve the community.

Download 2012-2013 Leadership Schedule PDF

“For additional information or questions concerning “Johnson County Leadership”, please contact us.

2012-2013 Leadership Class

On Saturday September 29th, the 2012-2013 Leadership class gathered at 7:30am to begin the annual Johnson County Leadership Weekend Retreat at Iron Mountain Inn in Butler, Tennessee. This annual event is the catalyst for the nine month long leadership program where individuals from various organizations, businesses, and government entities come together as virtual strangers, and leave as a cohesive and determined group of present and future community leaders. Johnson County Leadership is facilitated by the Johnson County Chamber of Commerce, and is part of Tennessee’s 3-Star Economic & Community Development program. The annual weekend retreat is facilitated by Russell Robinson who does an excellent job of laying out the various aspects of community leadership, as well as an incremental step by step process to becoming an effective community leader.

The names of the 2012-2013 Leadership Class are as follows, along with the name of their sponsors = Tyler Erikson (JCHS Student- Sponsored by ‘Grace Springs Farms’), Tammy Fenner (County Government), Katie Sexton (JCHS Student- Sponsored by “Operation Pocket Change”), Chyenne Campbell (JCHS Student- Sponsored by “Operation Pocket Change”), Timmy Bellamy (JCHS Student- Sponsored by “Operation Pocket Change”), Timmy Dugger (Farmers State Bank), Amanda Pierce (Johnson County Bank), Celeste Dunn (J.C. Chamber of Commerce), Jason Panganiban (Town of Mtn. City), and Ryan Smith (JCHS Student- Sponsored by “TACL Grant”) – Director: Karla Prudhomme, Assistant Director: Georgia Crowell, and Weekend Retreat Facilitator: Russell Robinson (JC School System)

The pictures are of the entire group (minus Georgia Crowell) at the annual weekend retreat; Russell Robinson and the 2012-2013 Leadership Class; AND fun team building exercises facilitated by the “Action Coalition’

Our program begins in September with a retreat and continues with six one-day sessions, ending with recognition of completion of the Leadership Program at the ‘ANNUAL CHAMBER OF COMMERCE AWARDS DINNER’, that takes place each June.

Each month has a different focus including:

  • History
  • Government
  • Business & Industry
  • Health and Social Services
  • Education
  • Tourism & Development

The sessions are conducted by leaders in their fields. In addition, field trips provide a firsthand look at important community locations.


Each year men and women who represent a cross section of Johnson County is selected. Candidates are nominated by employers, organizations, or individuals. A selection committee reviews applications and participants are selected on the basis of their activity in the community and their potential as leaders. Participants become leaders who actively give their time and effort to our community.

Graduates have a greater understanding of our county’s business, industrial, civic and educational issues. The skills learned through Leadership Johnson County prompt graduates to act on their awareness of community issues.

Nationwide studies of leadership programs indicate graduates are active in at least one community organization.


Tuition is normally provided by sponsors, employers, or other organizations willing to help
finance this deductible expense. Limited scholarships are available.

2011-2012 Leadership Program Alumni
Shannon Clark- Northeast Correctional Facility
Robert Sutherland- Johnson County School System
Angie Sutherland- Johnson County Bank
Dawn Roberts- Town of Mountain City
Cliff Mahala- Farmers State Bank (Group Leader)
Linda Keeble- Johnson County Community Hospital
Deidre Burgess- Johnson County High School Senior
Sean Klukan- Johnson County High School Senior
Craig Jennings- Johnson County High School Senior
Russell Robinson- Retreat Facilitator

2010-2011 Leadership Program Alumni
Georgia Crowell- Assitant Director
Mark Lundy-City Government;
Jerry Stanley- JC Chamber of Commerce;
Adrian Holman-Farmers State Bank;
Donna Manuel- Johnson County Bank;
Rose Rasmussen- Johnson County Education Department;
Dustin Sherrin- County Government;
Casey Dorenbaush-Mtn, City Marketing
Chelsea Fenner,
Elizabeth Dugger